HomeInfratil News2004Port of Tauranga wins Australasian Innovative Port Award

‹ Back to All Infratil News

Port of Tauranga wins Australasian Innovative Port Award

29 Oct 2004

The Port of Tauranga was last night declared the joint winner of the 2004 Australasian Innovative Port of the Year Award, which is run by the influential shipping magazine Lloyd's List.

The award was announced at the Australian Shipping Awards Dinner held in Melbourne last night (Thursday October 28), attended by some 350 leaders from the shipping and port industries. Co-winner of the award was the Port of Brisbane. It is the first time a New Zealand port has won a Lloyd's List award.

Chief Executive of the Port of Tauranga, Jon Mayson said the award reflected the development of the port over the past 10 years and recognised the progress that it had made by working in partnership with its customers.

"We are extremely pleased to be joint winners of this prestigious award. The timing means that it is an added tribute to Fraser McKenzie, who retired as the company's chairman yesterday after a three-decade association with the port's activities.

Mr Mayson said the award reflected the company's ongoing investment in infrastructure and the success of its multi-port strategy.

Recent and ongoing investments being undertaken by the port include:

  • Expanding its MetroPort operation to improve efficiency, increase container storage capacity and to allow for larger trains to use the facility. 
  • Building a major coal handling facility to service the 15-year contract for the coal it has with power generator, Genesis Energy.
  • Buying a new Liebherr Post Panamax container crane and upgrading the operating speeds of its three other Liebherr cranes. 
  • Upgrading its Tauranga Container Terminal to handle increased container volumes.


Trustpower Wellington Airport Infratil Property RetireAustralia CDC Data Centres Vodafone New Zealand Qscan Pacific Radiology Kao Data Longroad  Galileo Green Energy GmbH Gurīn Energy