HomeInfratil News2013Kaibosh wins Supreme Award at TrustPower National Community Awards

‹ Back to All Infratil News

Kaibosh wins Supreme Award at TrustPower National Community Awards

25 Mar 2013

Kaibosh, representing Wellington City, has been named Supreme Winner at the prestigious TrustPower National Community Awards.

The Awards were announced on Saturday 23 March at the 2012 TrustPower National Community Awards Dinner, held at the Waitangi Treaty Grounds in Waitangi.

The Runner-Up was the Mokihinui-Lyell Backcountry Trust, representing the Buller District.

The announcement comes after a full day for the 24 teams participating in the TrustPower National Community Awards.  Each regional team gave an eight minute presentation on their activities or project in a judging session held at the Turner Centre in Kerikeri. The teams were judged on that presentation and on a 1,000 word summary each group provided prior to the event.

Kaibosh was represented at the TrustPower National Community Awards by Robyn and George Langlands and Wellington City Mayor Celia Wade-Brown and Alistair Nicholson.

Kaibosh is New Zealand’s first dedicated food rescue organisation that is bridging the gap between businesses that are willing to donate surplus and the charities that need it in central Wellington.

At the TrustPower National Community Awards Kaibosh gave an eight minute presentation during which they told the participants of their innovative and enterprising vision to address a need that essentially feeds those in need while also helping businesses to reduce their food waste.

As TrustPower National Community Award Supreme Winner, Kaibosh receives a trophy, $2,500 prize money, a $500 voucher from Exult, a leading specialist training provider for the community sector, and a framed certificate.

TrustPower Community Relations Manager Graeme Purches says Kaibosh is a strong example of people identifying a need and an innovative solution to help the wider collective.

"TrustPower is proud to lead the way in recognising, rewarding and celebrating the incredible contribution volunteers make to New Zealand communities,” says Graeme Purches.

"All 24 groups participating in the TrustPower National Community Awards are shining examples of the amazing work volunteers undertake every day in cities and districts all around New Zealand. These groups have already won recognition in their regions and we are delighted to be able to showcase their efforts nationally at this weekend’s event,” says Mr Purches.

The Awards were judged by a panel of independent judges including Radio NZ host Jim Mora, Jan Harrison from Volunteering New Zealand and Malcolm Cameron, QSM and 2012 Senior New Zealander of the Year.

Also involved in the judging process were each of the 24 voluntary groups at the Awards, with the peer voting making up 50% of the final judging score and the independent judging panel’s votes making up the other 50%. The groups were judged on five criteria: Volunteer Input; Utilisation of Resources; Initiative and Creativity; Effectiveness of Activities; and Impact on District.

The judges’ comments about Kaibosh include:

• I hope that this model of a fantastic project gets picked up in other cities.

• What an idea. What potential. What impressive results you have achieved.

Please find below background information about the TrustPower Community Awards and TrustPower National Community Awards.

Suzi Luff

TrustPower Community Relations Coordinator


Robyn Langlands

TrustPower National Community Awards - Background

 Over the last 19 years the TrustPower Community Awards have grown into one of the country’s largest volunteer-based Awards programmes.

 Thanks to the TrustPower Community Awards, thousands of volunteers have been recognised and almost a million dollars has been injected into community groups up and down the country.

 The TrustPower Community Awards were initially set up with the Western Bay of Plenty District Council 19 years ago, when TrustPower became a listed company.

 Since then, TrustPower has established Community Awards in cities and districts right around the country, as a way of giving something back to its customers and their community.

 Today, the TrustPower Community Awards are run in 26 regions around the country, in conjunction with local district or city councils. Any voluntary group or volunteer-based not-for-profit organisation is eligible for the Awards, which recognise past achievements or work undertaken by volunteers over the previous 12 months.

 In 2000, TrustPower initiated the National Community Awards, where the Supreme Winners from the regional Awards share ideas and experiences and compete for the title of TrustPower National Community Award Supreme Winner.

 National Awards

The TrustPower National Community Awards are attended by representatives from each of the organisations judged Supreme Winner at their regional Awards, along with their region’s Mayor and his or her partner.

 Each regional team compiles an eight minute presentation on their group or organisation and its achievements as well as providing a 1,000 word written summary on their organisation. The teams themselves score each group, along with a panel of independent judges.

 The TrustPower National Community Award Supreme Winner receives $2,500, a framed certificate and a trophy, with the Runner-Up receiving $1,500 and a framed certificate. The Runner Up and Supreme Winners also receive vouchers from Exult, a leading and specialist training provider for the community sector. 

Although all organisations participating in the National Community Awards would love to take home the big prize, the Awards are about more than money and titles. They are about giving organisations time out, the opportunity to socialise and network with other similar groups and the chance to share ideas and experiences in a relaxed environment. 

There have been many examples of this networking resulting in ideas from one end of the country being established as successful projects in another region!

 Past National Community Award Winners 

2000: CACTUS (Combined Adolescent Challenge Training Unit & Support)

Westland District

 2001: The Otangarei Youth Sports & Recreation Trust


 2002: Te Puna Quarry Park Society Inc.

Tauranga/Western Bay of Plenty District

 2003: Palmerston Gateway to Gold Charitable Trust

Waihemo District

 2004: Friends of Dunstan Hospital

Central Otago District

 2005: Kihikihi Waikato Eventing

Waipa District 

2006: Special Rigs for Special Kids

Dunedin City 

2007: Palmerston North Street Van

Palmerston North City

 2008: Wairoa Community Development Trust

Wairoa District 

2009: The Friends of Motueka Hospital Trust

Nelson City/Tasman District

 2010: Bay of Islands Vintage Railway Trust

Far North District 

2011: Denniston Heritage Trust

Buller District

Trustpower Wellington Airport Infratil Property RetireAustralia CDC Data Centres Vodafone New Zealand Qscan Pacific Radiology Kao Data Longroad  Galileo Green Energy GmbH Gurīn Energy